Building Codes

The California Building Standards Code is also known as Title 24, California Code of Regulations. This group of codes includes many parts such as building, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, energy, elevator and historical building code provisions. It also includes special administrative requirements for schools, essential buildings and medical clinics. California's building codes are published on a triennial basis.  The 2013 code is scheduled to go into effect in January 2014. 

The California Building Standards Commission (CBSC) is responsible for the administration and implementation of each code cycle, which includes the proposal, review and adoption processes. Supplements and errata are issued throughout the cycle.

The codes listed on this website are for general reference and may not contain all of the supplements and errata issued throughout the cycle.  For a complete list of the codes with the most current supplements and errata, please visit the California Building Standards Commission website.

2010 California Administrative Code
2010 California Building Code - Vol. 1
2010 California Building Code - Vol. 2
2010 California Residential Code
2010 California Electrical Code
2010 California Mechanical Code
2010 California Plumbing Code
2010 California Green Building Standards Code
2010 California Energy Code
2010 California Historical Building Code
2010 California Fire Code
2010 Existing Building Code
2010 California Referenced Standard Code
Local Amendments -  Monterey County Code

Would you like to purchase copies of the code?
California's building codes are published by the International Code Council (ICC), with the exception of the Plumbing and Mechanical codes, and may be purchased directly from ICC.
The plumbing and mechanical codes may be purchased directly from the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) website.