Many Monterey County government offices will be closed or have limited hours of operation during a Winter Recess scheduled from December 26th- 29st. Check the department open/closed list for available services.
Home / Pillars / Ag / Tourism / Ed / Research / Facts / Busn / OET / Hsg / Successor / Contacts

Pillar Intro Picture

The Economic Opportunity Committee works with Department staff to complete and coordinate an Economic Development Strategic Plan.

The Department is supported by an Economic Opportunity Committee composed of members of the Board of Supervisors, the business community and the public.


The primary purpose of the Economic Opportunity Committee is to advise the Board of Supervisors on appropriate economic development policies, programs, and activities to ensure a Countywide perspective in support of a diversified economy, higher paying jobs and an expanded revenue base for local government services, while preserving and protecting the County's agricultural, tourism, and education economic base in collaboration with cities.

Staff Contact Person: Anita Nachor, (831) 755-5390.

Committee Members:

Supervisor Mary Adams Supervisor John M. Phillips (Chair)
Rudy Darken - Research & Development
Ken Johnson - Research & Development
Warren Wayland - Finance Dr. Eduardo Ochoa - Higher Education
Vacant - Agriculture Ken Scherpinski - Labor
Carlos Ramos - Micro Business Gill Campbell - Tourism
Dan Limesand - Healthcare (Vice-Chair) Kurt Gollnick - Agriculture

If you would like to be notified of upcoming Economic Opportunity Committee meetings, please contact Anita Nachor at to be added to our agenda distribution list.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.