Monterey County Logo

RECORDER-
COUNTY CLERK

HOME

CONTACT US

DOCUMENT
RECORDING

-OFFICE HOURS
-REQUIREMENTS

-OBTAIN COPIES

RECORDING FEES

MARRIAGE
LICENSES

-IN PERSON/MAIL
-INTERNET

BIRTH CERTIFICATES
-IN PERSON/MAIL
-INTERNET

DEATH CERTIFICATES
-IN PERSON/MAIL
-INTERNET

DD-214 MILITARY DISCHARGE
FICTITIOUS
BUSINESSES

-IN PERSON/MAIL
-VIA Internet
CLERK FEES

FORMS

LINKS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

COUNTY OF MONTEREY
RECORDER-COUNTY CLERK
 

DOCUMENT RECORDING
RECORDING FEES INCREASED JULY 1, 2010: First page/Title - $12.00; each subsequent page - $3.00

GENERAL RECORDING INFORMATION
OFFICE HOURS
DOCUMENT REQUIREMENTS
DOCUMENT FORMAT
RECORD BY MAIL
OBTAIN COPIES OF RECORDED DOCUMENTS

GENERAL RECORDING INFORMATION

The County Recorder, upon payment of proper fees and taxes, will accept any document that is authorized or required by California law to be recorded, if the document contains required information and if it is photographically reproducible. 

Documents may be presented for recording ONLY at the Recorder/County Clerk’s office located in the downtown Salinas Courthouse. 

Street Address:
Monterey County Recorder
168 West Alisal Street, 1st Floor
Salinas, CA  93901

Mailing Address:
Monterey County Recorder
P.O. Box 29
Salinas, CA  93902 

OFFICE HOURS

Office hours for, viewing public records, obtaining copies of official records and vital statistics records are:
8:00 A.M
. to 5:00 P.M. MONDAY through FRIDAY, EXCLUDING HOLIDAYS.  
DOCUMENT RECORDING HOURS ARE: 8:01 A.M. to 4:00 P.M
.

Please be advised, the Salinas office is the only location where documents can be recorded.  There are no branch offices.  All applicable recording fees must be paid at the time of recording. 

DOCUMENT REQUIREMENTS

Among other requirements, each document presented for recording must include or comply with the following general requirements. 

1.    The Property must be located in Monterey County.  (CC 1169)

2.    The document must be authorized or required by law to be recorded. (GC 27201)

3.    The document must be submitted with the proper fees and taxes. (GC 6301, 27201,  27261)

4.    The document must be in compliance with state and local laws.

5.    The document should name the person requesting the recording.  (GC 27361.6)

6.    The document should state the Name and Address, to whom the document should be returned, fill in “Recording Requested By and Mail To”. (GC 27361.6)

7.    The document must be legible enough to produce a readable photographic record.  (GC 27201, 27361.6, 27361.7)

8.    Signatures must be original unless the document is a certified copy issued by the appropriate custodian of the public record.  (GC 27201b, GC 282288, Evidence Code 1530) 

9.    The document must be properly acknowledged, unless exempt.  California requires an (all-purpose acknowledgement).  GC 27201, 27289, 27285, 27288, CC 1189)

10.  The notary seal must be legible for a microfilm reproduction.  (GC 8207)

11. The top right of the first page shall reserve 2 1/2" by 4 1/2" for recording information. (GC 2761.6)

 All documents transferring property require a PRELIMINARY CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP REPORT.  

The Preliminary Change of Ownership Report (PCOR) form can be viewed and printed from Assessor's web site. The form is in PDF (portable document format), which requires Acrobat Reader 3.x or later to view and print.    Download Acrobat here.   After Acrobat is installed on your computer, return to this web page and click here to view and/or print the Preliminary Change of Ownership Report or go to the Assessor's forms page.  If you have difficulties associated with the Acrobat Reader, check the Adobe Support web site. The Adobe sites and the PCOR form will open in a new browser window.

If a “Preliminary Change of Ownership Report” is required but not submitted at the time of recording, please include an additional $20.00 for the Ownership Change fee.  

Preliminary Change of Ownership Forms are available at the Recorder's customer counter, or can be mailed or faxed to you upon request by calling the Assessor's Office at (831) 755-5035.  

DOCUMENT FORMAT

GUIDELINES TO DETERMINE IF DOCUMENTS ARE ACCEPTABLE FOR RECORDING

Effective July 1, 1994 documents executed on or after July 1, 1994 must comply with the standard 8 ” by 11” sheet and paper size to avoid penalty, and must not exceed 8 ” by 14”.  Any document including any sheet not exactly 8 ” by 11” will cost the regular recording fee PLUS an ADDITIONAL $3.00 PER PAGE to record per Government Code 27361.1.  Attached EXHIBITS should be on a separate page and properly marked.  The first page should have a return address space on the top left that is 2 ” down and 3 ” across.  On the top right, allow a blank space 2 ’ down and 4 ” across for the recording.

The title of the document shall appear on the first page immediately below the spaces reserved for the return address and the blank space for the recorder’s information.

If there is not enough space for the Recorders Stamp on the first page, an additional $3.00 will be charged for a DEED COVER PAGE. 

A Deed Cover Page can be viewed and printed from this web site. The form is in PDF (portable document format), which requires Acrobat Reader 3.x or later to view and print.    Download Acrobat here.   After Acrobat is installed on your computer, return to this web page and click here to view and/or print the Deed Cover Page.  If you have difficulties associated with the Acrobat Reader, check the Adobe Support web site. The Adobe sites and the Deed Cover Page form will open in a new browser window..

Clarity is assured if you use: Original documents, white paper (16 lb. Bond or heavier), BLACK ink in one color, and clear print.  Be careful of dot matrix printers, FAX copies, dark backgrounds, variations in colored paper/ink, print letters that run together, illegible Notary Seals, etc. 

Trained examiners who rely on Federal and State Codes review documents.

RECORDING BY MAIL

You may mail in your documents for recording with a check, cashier's check or money order made payable to

Monterey County Recorder
P. O. Box 29

Salinas, CA  93902 

Your request is processed upon receipt.  Please allow 2-3 weeks to receive your original recorded document back in the mail. 

The office of the Recorder/County Clerk is prohibited from giving any legal advice or to assist in document preparation.  We do not provide any notarial services or forms.  Forms may be purchased at office supply or stationery stores.

Once you have the appropriate form, you may prepare it yourself, or use the services of a legal professional.

OBTAINING COPIES OF RECORDED DOCUMENTS

When requesting copies you must provide us with the following:

Document number
Reel and page if applicable
Recording year
Name of at least one of the parties named on the document
Type of document

REQUESTING IN PERSON

You may obtain copies of all recorded real property documents at the office of the

Monterey County Recorder
168 West Alisal Street, 1st Floor
Salinas CA 93901

The fees for copies of recorded documents are $2.00 for each page and $2.00 to certify each document.

REQUESTING BY MAIL

You may also mail your request with a check or money order payable to

Monterey County Recorder-County Clerk
P.O. Box 29
Salinas CA 93902