Airport Land Use Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Airport Land Use Commission

 For further information, please call the Clerk of the Board's Office at (831) 755-5066.

Apply Now
Legislative Reference

Established under the authority of the California State Aeronautics Act, Section 21670 of the Public Utilities Code.

Adopted Rules of Procedures 1-23-12


Seven member selected from:

Two representatives of the cities in the county, appointed by a selection committee comprised of the Mayors of all cities with that county;
Two representatives of the County, appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
Two representatives of the airports within the County, appointed by a selection committee, comprised of the managers of all of the public
airports within that County, however; one such representative shall be appointed from an airport operated for the benefit of the general public.
One representative of the general public, appointed by the other six members of the commission


Each member serves a 4 years, with expiration dates to be the first Monday in May, in the year in which the Commissioner's term expires.

Qualifications & Functions:

  • 1. It is in the public interest to provide for the orderly development of each public use airport in this state and the areas surrounding these airports, so as to promote the overall goals and objectives of the California airport noise standards adopted pursuant to Section 21669 and to prevent the creation of new noise and safety problems.

  • 2. It is the purpose of this article to protect public health, safety, and welfare by ensuring the orderly expansion of airports and the adoption of land use measures that minimize the public's exposure to the excessive noise and safety hazards within areas around public airports to the extent that these areas are not already devoted to incompatible uses.

Meeting Date, Time, and Place:

Meetings are held regularly on the fourth Monday of each month, 3:00 p.m., Airport Board meeting room, Monterey Peninsula Airport.

Staff Contact

Joe Sidor, RMA Planning: (831) 755-5262

Supervisors Appointees

District Name Appointed Expires
Board of Supervisors Phyllis Cleveland 04-26-16 05-04-20
Board of Supervisors William Sabo 04-26-16 05-04-20

Members Appointed by Other Entities:

Five Members Appointed By Other Agencies:

Appointing Authority Name Appointed Expires
Airport Managers' Selection Committee Kim Cohan
Airport Managers' Selection Committee Robert McGregor 05-08-18 05-02-22
City's Selection Committee Bill Kampe 05-03-13 05-05-17
Mayor's Selection Committee Mayor Joe Gunter 04-01-16 05-06-19
Other Six Members of the Commission Vacant


Updated 05-30-18 dh