Child Abuse Prevention Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Child Abuse Prevention Council

For further information, please call the Clerk of the Board's Office at (831) 755-5066.

Apply Now

Legislative Reference

Created by Board of Supervisors Order dated June 10, 1986


Committee consists of a member and alternate from each of the following:

  • 3 police agencies (1 each: Salinas, Monterey Peninsula, South Monterey County
  • District Attorney
  • Monterey County Medical Society
  • Sheriff
  • Child Protective Services
  • South County SCANS Team
  • Natividad Medical Center
  • Monterey County Health Department
  • County Office of Education
  • Military
  • Superior Court Judge
  • Municipal Court Judge
  • Social Services Commission
  • Clergy
  • Monterey County Child Care Council
  • Family Resource Center
  • 2 Citizens at Large
  • County Counsel

Qualifications & Functions:

The Council is directed to coordinate prevention, treatment, education and awareness efforts in Monterey County. The Council reports to the Board of Supervisors, through the Social Services Department.

Appointing Process:

Identified agencies to nominate member and alternate. Two Citizen-at-Large positions to be advertised countywide and recommended to the Board by the Social Services Department.

Meeting Date, Time & Place

Meets quarterly at 3:30 P.M. 1000 So. Main St., Best Friends Room Ste. 112B, Salinas, CA Contact Staff for additional information.

Staff Contact:

Arlene Boyd, Administrative Secretary- Confidential (831) 755-4430

Districts 1-5 (Full Board)

**Members below are elected from associations and recommended to the Board**

Name Organization
Steve Bernal County Sheriff
Dean Flippo District Attorney
Jeannine Pacioni District Attorney’s Office
Tom Berg County Health Department
Marni Sandoval County Health Department
Emily Nicholl Department of Social Services
Lori Medina Department of Social Services
Annette M. Cutino County Counsel’s Office
Juan Rodriguez County Counsel’s Office
Judy Pennycook County Office of Education
Ron Panziera County Office of Education
Sister Pataricia Murtagh Clergy
Leticia Flores-McPherson Clergy
Dr. Valerie Barnes Natividad Medical Center
Marcia Parsons Probation Department 
Todd Keating Probation Department
Joe Whitford Probation Department
Clare Mounteer Child Abuse Agency Network
Monterey Rape Crisis
Jason H. Ledford Military Family Advocacy Program
Marie Kassing Citizen-at-Large
Jack Harpster Citizen-at-Large

Updated 06-21-16 il