Parks Commission


Parks Commission

The information contained on this page and related pages are currently under review and revision. For further information, please call the Clerk of the Board's Office at (831) 755-5066. We are striving to bring current all information contained on these pages, and we appreciate your patience.

Apply Now

Legislative Reference:

04-26-66 Resolution No. 66-185 Establishment of Monterey County Parks Commission
07-29-80 Resolution No. 80-430 Re-created Parks Commission
08-28-90 Resolution No. 90-497 Amended Terms of Office


Consists of 5 members representing each of the 5 Supervisor’s districts. Each member serves a 4-year term, expiring April 26th

Duties of the Commission:

Act in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors in promoting, aiding, encouraging, and conducting a public parks program, including the development of recreation and park facilities. To act in an advisory captivity to the Board of Supervisors and to the Director of Parks in planning, maintenance, development, and operation of all recreation areas and facilities owned, controlled, or leased by the County of Monterey

Meeting Date, Time, and Place:

Meets on the first Thursday of each month, located at 168 W. Alisal St., Salinas. Board of Supervisors chamber.


Susan Rosales-Nava, Parks Department: 831-755-4907.

District Name Appointed Expires
1 Brian Contreras 06-07-16 04-26-19
2 Jordan Caballero 07-18-17 04-26-20
3 Ruben Zurita 07-01-14 04-26-18
4 Joanna Devers 05-23-17 04-26-18
5 Joseph Hertlein 07-11-17 04-26-21


Updated 07-20-17  dh