Board of Directors

Board Of Directors

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Agency is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors (BOD) who are appointed by the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors. Directors must be residents of Monterey County and possess backgrounds and experience indicating a high level of interest or expertise in areas relating to the Agency's work. Each of the five members of the Board of Supervisors selects one member for the Board of Directors, with the remaining four directors being appointed by a majority vote of the Supervisors from nominees submitted by the following groups or organizations: Monterey County Farm Bureau; Grower-Shipper Association; City Select Committee; and, the Monterey County Agricultural Advisory Committee. The term of office for each director is four years. Directors may be reappointed at the end of their terms.

Duties of the Board of Directors, with the assistance of staff, include the following:

  • Establishes short and long-term policy objectives for the Agency, subject to review by the Board of Supervisors;
  • Prepares an annual budget;
  • Holds public hearings on proposed budget;
  • Approves all contracts for which funds have been budgeted.

BOD Members 

Mark Gonzalez, Chair
District 1
By Supervisor Luis Alejo
(Term Expires 12/31/19)

John Baillie, Vice-Chair
by Ag. Advisory Committee
(Term Expires 12/31/22)

Mike Scattini
District 2
by John M. Phillips
(Term Expires 12/31/19)

Richard Ortiz
District 3
By Supervisor Chris Lopez
(Term Expires 12/31/19)

Deidre Sullivan
District 4
by Supervisor Jane Parker
(Term Expires 12/31/21)

Ken Ekelund
District 5
by Supervisor Mary Adams
(Term Expires 12/31/19)

Mike LeBarre
by City Selection Committee
(Term Expires 12/31/21)

Matthew Simis
by Grower-Shipper Association
(Term Expires 12/31/19)

Jason Smith
By Monterey County Farm Bur.
(Term Expires 12/31/22)

Pages Under Board of Directors

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer

Monterey County Water Resources Agency
1441 Schilling Pl., North Bldg., Salinas, CA 93901

    Phone (831) 755-4860   |   FAX (831) 424-7935   |   After Hours (831) 796-1166